The Institute of Archaeological Sciences (IAW) unites four archaeological disciplines under one roof: Mediterranean Archaeology, Archaeology of the Roman Provinces, Prehistoric Archaeology and Near Eastern Archaeology.

Since 2011 Christa Ebnöther has been Full Professor of Archaeology of the Roman Provinces and Elena Mango Full Professor of Archaeology of the Mediterranean. Mirko Novák held the Assistant Professorship of Near Eastern Archaeology from 2011-2015 and has been Extraordinarius of this department since 2016. Albert Hafner has been full professor of prehistoric archaeology since 2012. All IAW staff members can be found here in alphabetical order. The teams of the individual departments introduce themselves in the Research section.